15th Annual La Crosse Lenten Luncheon

15th Annual La Crosse Lenten Luncheon

Bishop William Patrick Callahan and Catholic Charities cordially invite you to the 15th Annual La Crosse Lenten Luncheon! Gourmet soup, salad and bread will be served. $30.00 per person or reserve a table of 4 for $120.00. Please RSVP by March 20 as seating is limited.

Wednesday, March 29, 2023
Holy Cross Diocesan Center
3710 East Avenue South
La Crosse, WI 54601

11:30 Reception
11:50 Welcome
12:00 Lunch
12:30 Awards
1:00 Blessing from Bishop Callahan


The “In My Name” award recognizes an individual or an organization exemplifying these words from the Gospel of Mark, “John said to him, ‘Teacher, we saw a man using your name to force demons out of people. But he wasn’t one of us, and we told him to stop.’ Jesus said to his disciples, ‘Don’t stop him! No one who works miracles in my name will soon turn and say something bad about me. Anyone who isn’t against us is for us. And anyone who gives you a cup of water in my name, just because you belong to me, will surely be rewarded.” (Mark 9:38-41).
We are grateful to those who serve others in the name of Christ, for in doing so, they are also serving the Lord.



The Bill Medland Faithful Servant Award is presented to a La Crosse area community member who exemplifies many of the same qualities and gifts that Bill Medland shared with our community, church, and those in need. Bill’s ability to see the needs of others in our community, the compassion to act on that knowledge and his wonderful ability to inspire others to participate in the completion of these endeavors are characteristics we recognize in our Faithful Servant Award recipient.

Past In My Name Award Recipients
2022 - Kay Berra
2019 - Joseph and Michelle Skemp
2018 - Jim and Patty Kirchner
2017 - Deacon David Allen
2016 - Cathy Cooper
2015 - Fr. James Kurzynski and the Roncalli Newman Parish
2014 - John and Donna Hansen
2013 - Sheila Garrity and Rev. Robert Cook
2012 - Rev. Msgr. Bernard O. McGarty and St. Clare Health Mission
2011 - Barb Swieciak and The Aquinas High School IMPACT Group
2010 - Margaret de Pereiro - St. Joseph Parish, Adams and Front Door Ministry - St. Joseph the Workman Cathedral
2009 - Benedictine Sisters of St. Bede Monastery and Joe and Barb Kruse
2008 - Stephen Ronstrom
2007 - Gary Peckham and Holy Family Parish

Past Bill Medland Faithful Servant Award Recipients
2022 - Chuck Berendes
2019 - Sr. Karen Neuser
2018 - Deacon Tom Skemp
2017 - Dr. Rick Artman
2016 - Mary Ann Gschwind, FSPA
2015 - Deacon Richard Sage
2014 - Tom Thibodeau

Join us in making the day special for our award recipients. Please share congratulatory words and memories of our recipients by clicking the link below!
They will be shared with Jerry and Tom on March 29th! Thank you!

Thank you to our Luncheon’s Premier Sponsor!

Wieser Brothers Logo

Lazarus Sponsors

Diocese of La Crosse

JF Brennan


Mayo Health

Moen Sheehan Meyer

Viterbo University



Mary Magdalene Sponsors
Fowler & Hammer
Morrison & Associates

John The Baptist Sponsors
Becker Accounting
Colgan Air
Festival Foods
Kress & Associates of C21 Affiliated
La Crosse Insurance Agency, A Division of Coverra Insurance Services
Merchants Bank
Ron Hammes Refrigeration
Schumacher-Kish Funeral and Cremation Services
Wisconsin Right to Life